White Pagoda Park
Located in the north of Lanzhou City, the White Pagoda Park owes its name to the amazing White Pagoda within it. With images of Buddha on its eight sides, the seven-story pagoda with a height of 17 meters (about 55.8 feet), is a pure white from top to bottom with the exception of the green top which greatly enhances the glamour of the whole building.
Legend has it that the White Pagoda was built in honor of a well-known Tibetan Lama who died of an illness in Lanzhou when on his way to Mongolia as representative of the leader of Sakyapa in order to meet Genghis Khan, founder of the Yuan Dynasty (1271-1368). Unfortunately, the original pagoda later toppled down. The present White Pagoda was constructed by an official in the reign of Emperor Yingzong of the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644), and later extended by an imperial inspector in Qing Dynasty (1644-1911).
In 1958, White Pagoda Park was opened to the public. Covering an area of 8,000 square meters（about two acres), the park has three stately and magnificent ancient architectural complexes within it. These harmonize with the surrounding natural landscape and the White Pagoda Mountain beyond. The mountain was once famed for its 'Three Treasures', the Elephant Skin Drum, Bronze Bell, and Redbud that withered long ago. After many years' forestation, the park has taken on a brand new look and now the trees and grass here are luxuriant. Special features of the park are the Mysterious Yellow River Stone Hall and the Yugur Reception Counting House the likes of which may not be found elsewhere. If one has an opportunity to visit this park, a climb to the top of pagoda should not be missed, as it affords a bird's eye view of the whole of Lanzhou City. One can also feast one's eyes on the magnificent view of White Pagoda Mountain with the Zhongshan Bridge at its foot. The way in which the bridge and mountain complement each other to form picturesque scene has meant that together they have become a symbol of Lanzhou City and very much a 'must see' for travelers.